Menu Close

Voting to Elect India’s New Vice President Today, Numbers Favour Jagdeep Dhankhar Over Margaret Alva

determined to abstain from voting alleging lack of consultations whereas deciding on the identify of Alva. The 80-year-old Alva is a Congress veteran and has served as governor of Rajasthan and Uttarakhand, whereas the 71-year-old Dhankhar is a Jat chief from Rajasthan with socialist background.

Alva, nonetheless, obtained the backing of regional social gathering Telangana Rashtra Samithi(TRS) on Friday, two days after Aam Aadmi Party and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) lent their assist to the opposition candidate. The AIMIM has additionally prolonged its assist to Alva. With the assist of some regional events just like the Janta Dal (United), YSRCP, BSP, AIADMK and Shiv Sena, the NDA nominee is probably going to recover from 515 votes, sufficient for a snug win for him.

Alva is probably going to recover from 200 votes, going by the assist introduced by events for her candidature to this point. The Trinamool Congress, which has 23 MPs in Lok Sabha and 16 in Rajya Sabha, has determined to steer clear of the vice presidential election.

“If Parliament is to function effectively, MPs, independent of their parties, must find ways to rebuild trust and restore broken communication amongst each other. In the end, it is the MPs who determine the character of our Parliament,” Alva stated in a recent video message forward of elections. She stated she has seen debates and variations and but an environment of give and take, which is now missing. “The time has come for all parties to get together and to restore the faith and the trust in each other and restore the dignity of Parliament,” Alva stated in her recent attraction to MPs. Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge additionally hosted a dinner on Thursday evening to thank all opposition MPs who’re supporting Alva.

Dhankhar, alternatively met various BJP MPs at his residence on Friday. These embrace Sushil Kumar Modi, Gautam Gambhir, Rajyavardhan Rathore, Rajendra Agrawal, Pradeep Choudhary and Kartikeya Sharma, amongst others. He has been assembly social gathering MPs whereas looking for their assist for the ballot. While polling will likely be held from 10 am to 5 pm on Saturday, the ballots will likely be counted instantly after that. night, the returning officer will announce the identify of the following vp.

Members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, together with nominated members, are eligible to vote within the vice presidential ballot. The time period of incumbent M Venkaiah Naidu ends on August 10. The vp can be the chairperson of Rajya Sabha.

The electoral school within the vice presidential election includes a complete of 788 members of each Houses of Parliament. Since all of the electors are members of each Houses of Parliament, the worth of vote of every MP can be the identical — one, the Election Commission has stated. The election is held in accordance with the system of proportional illustration via a single transferable vote and the voting at such election is by secret poll.

There isn’t any idea of open voting on this election and exhibiting the poll to anybody below any circumstances within the case of presidential and vice-presidential elections is completely prohibited, the EC has cautioned, including that events can not concern whip to its MPs within the matter of voting. Unlike the presidential ballot the place voting takes place in a number of places as elected MLAs, not nominated, additionally kind a part of the electoral school, within the vice presidential election, voting takes place in Parliament House.

Read the Latest News and Breaking News right here