Menu Close

Vice Presidential poll 2022: Counting begins; NDA’s Jagdeep Dhankhar frontrunner

Vice Presidential election 2022: The counting of votes for the vice presidential election began on Saturday. As many as 725 Members of Parliament voted within the election. National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee and former West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar (71) is pitted towards joint Opposition candidate Margaret Alva (80). All members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, together with nominated ones, are eligible to vote within the vice presidential election.

06 Aug 2022, 07:00:53 PM IST

Who is Jadgeep Dhankhar?

  • The BJP-led NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar is a former West Bengal Governor. Dhankhar, a lawyer by career, joined politics in 1989.
  • Dhankar was born in an agrarian family in a distant village in Rajasthan’s Jhunjhunu district.
  • He was elected to Lok Sabha from Rajasthan’s Jhunjhunu in 1989.
  • Dhankhar represented the Kishangarh constituency of Ajmer district within the Rajasthan Legislative Assembly from 1993-1998.
  • Jagdeep Dhankhar grew to become the governor of West Bengal in July 2019 and has made headlines since then over his tumultuous relations with the Mamata Banerjee authorities.
  • Dhankhar is married to Sudesh Dhankhar and so they have a daughter.
National Democratic Alliance (NDA) vice-presidential candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar 

View Full Image

National Democratic Alliance (NDA) vice-presidential candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar  (Hindustan Times)
06 Aug 2022, 06:54:06 PM IST

India’s Vice Presidental election 2022: Prominent leaders who voted in the present day

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was amongst the primary leaders to forged his vote. The different large names who forged their vote in the present day embrace

-Union Ministers Amit Shah

-Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh

– BJP president JP Nadda

-Congress chief Rahul Gandhi

-Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh

-Ashwini Vaishnaw

-Anurag Thakur

-S Jaishankar

-Hema Malini

-Sonia Gandhi

-Nirmala Sitharaman

-Jyotiraditya Scindia

06 Aug 2022, 06:47:42 PM IST

How is India’s Vice President elected?

The Vice-President is elected by an electoral school consisting of members of each Houses of Parliament (Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha), in accordance with the system of proportional illustration by way of the one transferable vote.

The voting is by secret poll. The Electoral College to elect an individual to the workplace of the Vice-President consists of all members of each Houses of Parliament.

06 Aug 2022, 06:43:18 PM IST

Counting course of underway for the Vice Presidential elections in Parliament begins

The counting began at 6 pm beneath the supervision of the Lok Sabha Secretary General, who’s the returning officer for the election. The polling for India’s 14 Vice Presidential poll began at 10 am on August 6.

the App to get 14 days of limitless entry to Mint Premium completely free!