Jagdeep Dhankhar Is New Vice President, Defeats Margaret Alva: 10 Points


Jagdeep Dhankhar, a Jat, was born in 1951 right into a farmer’s household in a small village in Rajasthan.

New Delhi:
Jagdeep Dhankhar, former Bengal Governor, was declared elected because the Vice President on Saturday. He bested Opposition’s Margaret Alva to emerge winner.

Here are the highest factors on this huge story:

  1. The BJP-led NDA candidate received the election comfortably with 528 votes in opposition to Ms Alva’s 182, the voting for which came about earlier in the present day. The Vice President can also be the ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

  2. The returning officer of the vice presidential election stated of the whole 780 electors, 725 solid their ballots however 15 votes have been discovered to be invalid. The turnout was 92.94 per cent, he stated, including {that a} candidate wanted 356 votes to get elected.

  3. Of all of the legitimate votes, Mr Dhankhar secured 74.36 per cent. He has the best successful margin within the final six vice presidential elections held since 1997. As many as 55 MPs didn’t vote within the vice presidential election held from 10 am to five pm on Saturday.

  4. The Trinamool Congress, which has a complete of 36 MPs, together with 23 in Lok Sabha, had abstained from the election. However, two of its MPs had solid their ballots.

  5. Margaret Alva congratulated Mr Dhankhar on the win. She additionally thanked leaders of the Opposition, and MPs from throughout events who voted for her on this election. “This election is over. The battle for protecting our Constitution, strengthening our democracy & restoring the dignity of Parliament, will continue,” she stated.

  6. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, together with BJP chief JP Nadda, went to congratulate Mr Dhankhar on on his election because the Vice President. Mr Dhankhar, a Jat, was born in 1951 right into a farmer’s household in a small village in Rajasthan.

  7. Mr Dhankhar had the assist of a number of different non-NDA events – Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR Congress, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Akali Dal and the Eknath Shinde faction of the Shiv Sena.

  8. Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Aam Aadmi Party and the 9 MPs of Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction supported Ms Alva.

  9. In the final election, Opposition candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi obtained 32 per cent of votes.

  10. Under the system of proportional illustration by a single transferable vote, the elector has to mark preferences in opposition to the names of the candidates.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.